Universities and schools

Journalism education is an optional subject in the school system of Nepal. Students in their 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th year of basic education can choose to study journalism as an optional subject. 

Three universities in Nepal run academic courses on mass communication and journalism. The Tribhuvan University (TU), Nepal’s oldest and biggest university, started journalism education in 1976. The following universities runs academic courses on journalism:

Tribhuvan University

  • Department of Journalism and Mass Communication: Bachelor in Arts (Mass Communication and Journalism); Master in Journalism and Mass Communication; Masters in Philosophy (Journalism).
  • The Office of the Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities: Doctor of Philosophy (Journalism).

Purbanchal University

  • Master in Mass Communication & Journalism; Master in Development Communication; Master in Media Technology; Bachelor in Mass Communication and Journalism; and Bachelor in Media Technology.

Kathmandu University

  • School of Arts: Bachelor in Media Studies.